fondo golf
Friday, 05 April 2019
Home About History
History E-mail
jarabacoa golf club casa club
More than 40 years ago a group of members of the Santo Domingo Country Club who had been vacationing in Jarabocoa for years and missed playing golf while on vacation, decided it would be a great idea to build a golf course in Jarabacoa. 

They donated the land for this unique golf course and announced that construction would begin in 1973 and play would begin in 1976. 

The new golf club was inaugurated by the Dominican Republic’s Vice President Senior Goico Morales and the founding Santo Domingo Country Club members.

When maintenance proved to be a problem in 1980, the club was signed over to a group from La Vega and Jarabacoa, and its name changed to La Vega Golf Club with Dr. Luis Jimenez Rojas as its first president. 

The membership grew steadily especially in Jarabocoa, so that by 1990 the club was renamed the Jarabacoa Golf Club with FernandoSierra as its first president.

Fernando Fernandez later was elected president and remained in office for nine years.

The founder members of the Jarabacoa Golf Club were:

  •     Luis De Pool
  •     Mazo Bonetti Burges
  •     Ing. Luis Jose Alvarez
  •     Juanico Martínez
  •     Ing. Rafael Pellerano
  •     Dr. Manuel Pellerano
  •     Orlando Haza
  •     Calin de León
  •     Papia Najri
  •     Pedro Rodriguez